top of page

Some Jammin' Tunes l Vol. i

'Music was my refuge. I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness.” ― Maya Angelou

Growing up, I knew that my family was just a tad bit weird. We were weird for just this one reason. My home was that one house down the end of the street where neighbours could easily hear some good soulful 90's tunes every Saturday and Sunday morning blasting religiously.

I think the reason why I attribute power to music is because it incorporates the two fundamental human traits - the yearning for an emotional connection and the expression of the soul. When you listen to a song, you're essentially being invited to the mental space of the songwriters thoughts or feelings.The power of music stretches beyond the gratifying pleasures of carefully constructed melodies to reach the ears of those in reach but it lends to the theory of the components of the earth. Every human alive, privileged to breathe and exist is living in an myriad of waves - ultrasonic waves, ultraviolet waves, microwaves, light etc. The planets that circle Earth posses their own frequency which can dictate the type of waves in existence. Why do you think the serene action of sitting at the harbour, listening to the ocean is such a pleasantly beautiful experience. It's the earth, the wind, the seas - all the natural elements making music.

Music is such a powerful medium of catharsis for the mental space and is a great way to intentionally influence your mood. I'm usually that person that's watching a TV show or walking past a retail outlet and my ears will immediately perk up and drown every background note when I hear a great beat or a great tune. To this day, I still find great satisfaction and pleasure when I can stumble across a great tune and it to my collection. When it comes to music tastes, I love a wide range of genres starting with the soulful notes of breathtaking artists such as Nina Simone, Luther Vandross,Ella Fitzgerald to jazz (Frank Sinatra, Norah Jones,Louis Armstrong). I definitely have my indie rock moments for sure and I like a select few country songs from. Below are couple of the songs I've had on repeat for the month of April.

Thirdstory - G. Train ft. Pusha

Foals - My Number

Wild Wolves - Athlete

Briggs - River

Glass Animals - Gooey

Norah Jones - Don't Know Why

Sade - Smooth Operator

Tove Lo - Cool Girl

Iron and Wine - The Trapeze Swinger

Asa - Fire on the Mountain

Graffiti 6 - Staring Into the Sun

HAIM - Want You Back

This Is Me - Keala Settle (from the Soundtrack to the Movie "The Greatest Showman")

Tell me below what genres of music you gravitate towards to and who your favourite artist is ?


bottom of page